[]
[]

The Midwife's Tale

Thomas, Samuel S. (Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Midwife's Tale
Print

Item Details

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.
Authors: Thomas, Samuel S.
Title: The midwife's tale
Publisher: New York :, St. Martin's Minotaur,, 2013.
Edition: First St. Martin's Minotaur Edition.
Characteristics: 310 p. :,map ;,22 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Local Note: 1 6 15 16 17 18 29 33 35 53 54 57 61 62 65 67 69 71 73 74 76 79 118 133 138 148 152 167 172 173 182 193 198 210 211 216 226 231 234 237 243 244 250 258 262 268 270
ISBN: 1250010764
9781250010766
Statement of Responsibility: Sam Thomas
Subject Headings: Midwives Fiction. Murder Investigation Fiction. York (England) History Fiction. Great Britain History Civil War, 1642-1649 Fiction. Midwifery England History 17th century Fiction.
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction.
Topical Term: Midwives
Murder
Midwifery
LCCN: 2012045229
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 05, 2014
  • m2 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Very authentic and very bloody period mystery with 2 strong female characters. Written by a historian and based on a real person, the book is very illuminating about the time period. Recommend for historical mystery fans and I loved the fact that Bridget was not modernized -- she espouses beliefs of the time period, however shocking they are to us.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/22 16:24